So it’s that time again

Fireworks, New Year's DayIt is the first day of the year 2010. The day when we pour ourselves a glass of sparkling champagne while looking up at the spectacle of bursting lights in the sky. We pat ourselves in the back for what was in the past year and then we clench our fists with mixed feelings of excitement and determination because we know that this year can be better, will be better. This is the day when our hearts are inspired and full of strong hope. And like most, I am raring to move forward with old and new resolutions in tow.

This year, my resolution is simple – to do more, be more and to make the most out of every single day.

First, I plan to wake up earlier so I can give myself the time and leisure to look forward to the day ahead. I’m done with my overuse of the snooze button. If I want to start my year right, I have to start my days right. I want to give myself the time to play dress up while listening to a favorite song. Maybe learn something new while I munch on a piece of fruit. Doesn’t this sound better than having to mindlessly rush out of the door with an energy drink?

Second, I am clearing my life of tangible and intangible clutter so I can make more time and room for enrichment. I asked myself the following questions: “Where does the negative energy in my life come from?”, “What do I waste my time on?”, “What can I give up?”, “What makes me worry?”. Of course, we can all replace Where and What with Who in all of these questions. I made lists out of my answers and the exercise was beyond insightful.

Third, I will have to replace the clutter. I made another set of lists. The questions I asked myself this time are: “What do I want to learn this year?”, “What can I do to take better care of myself?”, “How do I invoke carpe diem?”, “What do I want to achieve?”, “What makes me happy?”. Once again, beyond insightful. I am looking forward to filling my life with good things, night and day, day and night.

Lastly, I wish to surround myself with inspiration. Outside our flats is a world that is completely beyond our will and control. What we surround ourselves with, especially in our homes, we can have ownership of.

Happy New Year, indeed. Time is so precious, make the most.

Leave a Reply

