J.Crew {Bling} Review: Mulberry Leaf Pearl Mix necklace

Description on J.Crew’s website: Our designer created an impossibly luxe, amazingly textured charm: Entirely handcrafted and hand assembled (down to the individually strung freshwater pearls and miniature beads), it features a chandelier of gold-plated brass leaves oxidized for a dappled effect and adorned with twisted clusters of brass beads, glass crystals and freshwater pearls for a blooming, tactile feel. Here, pieces of it are paired with a brooch-like crystal charm set against brass chains on one side and acrylic pearls on the other for a cleaner, more organized approach to the mixed-media necklace. The result is a stunning statement piece destined for heirloom status. Dark gold ox-plated brass bezel casting, metal flower casting, brass beads, brass chain, glass stones, acrylic pearls and freshwater pearls. Signature spring clasp closure. Import. Length: 19 1/2″ with 3″ extender chain for adjustable length.

Okay, I know it doesn’t look bad in the picture above but I was truly disappointed when I received this piece. It doesn’t look “impossibly luxe” at all. The “glass crystal” flower looks and feels cheap.  Honestly, it looks and feels like plastic to me. I had a hard time arranging the components of the necklace. It’s also quite short for my liking which means that I won’t get as much wear out of it. I usually like to wear my statement necklaces with collared shirts. I am in love with that combination. This one looks better on a bare neck. This is definite return for me! Love the concept, not a big fan of the execution. And the plastic-looking flower just killed it for me. The product just doesn’t justify the price.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

